Concealed Weapons Permits
INSTRUCTIONS FOR CONCEALED WEAPON PERMIT APPLICATION
1. Fill out the application
(Fillable Forms are in Word 2010, if you have an older version of Word and would like a fill-able form please download theCompatibility Pack)
2. Permits are issued by appointment only Monday-Thursday 9:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.
(Please call 406-445-7272 for scheduling or questions)
3. In order for the permit to be issued, you MUST:
- Be a Carbon County resident
- Provide valid driver's license or I.D. card
- Provide proof of weapons training (Hunter Safety, DD214 Military, Approved training, ect.)
A first-time permit cost is $60, and a four-year renewal is $30.
(Payment must be made with exact cash or check.)
Please visit the Montana Department of Justice for more information.
Montana law allows people to carry concealed weapons if he or she has a valid Montana or out-of-state permit to do so.
No weapons, concealed or otherwise, are allowed in school buildings in Montana.
Even with a concealed weapons permit, you may not carry a concealed weapon in the following places:
- buildings owned or leased by the federal, state or local government
- financial institutions
any place where alcoholic beverages are sold, dispensed and consumed
In addition, be sure to check local regulations, which may restrict carrying concealed weapons at public meetings, and in public parks, and buildings.
County Sheriffs can provide information on where concealed weapons are prohibited in their counties.
Montana has no prohibitions against carrying a weapon in a motor vehicle.
Note on renewals
Application for renewal must be made within sixty (60) days of the expiration of the permit.
The following are links to the Montana Code Annotated dealing with Concealed Weapons: